Coconut Creamscicle

Coconut Creamscicle This time around you’re getting a two-for-one special. This story started about 16 months ago when I decided to use the leftover basil-lime simple syrup from a fruit salad as inspiration for a cocktail. It was knock-your-socks-off fabulous and wouldn’t you know, I can’t for the life of me remember what it was. I can’t even remember the liquor. If I were someone with a drinking problem I’d suspect that I had one too many, blacked out and upon regaining consciousness the recipe had escaped along with drunken hallucinations and memories of total and utter humiliation.  But like I said, I don’t have said drinking problem.

As I was lamenting the loss of this spirituous gem, I decided to make my daughters some popscicles.  I had a can of orange juice concentrate in my refrigerator along with a carton of coconut milk and thought that sounded like a great place to start.  After adding five cups of coconut milk to the concentrate, the concoction still had that orange juice concentrate bite to it and I was out of coconut milk.  So, in went some vanilla extract.  The bite was still there.  So I went on the hunt to find something to tame that citric beast…almond extract!  Not a lot, just a splash and it made that orange behemoth play nicely.

PopscicleAt this point, I had a great popscicle recipe but was still grieving the loss of that fabulous cocktail.  Now, if you’ve been paying attention, you’ll have noticed that I had over 6 cups of this base and, little do you know, I have only eight popscicle molds.  With four extra cups of base staring me in the face, how could I not develop a grown-up application for this deliciousness?

The hunt resumed – this time in my liquor cabinet – and I again emerged victorious with ginger liqueur and white rum, and the rest is history.

Coconut Creamscicle

Ingredients

Creamscicle Base/Popscicle:

1 can orange juice concentrate
5 cups coconut milk (from the refrigerator section)
1 tsp vanilla extract
⅛ tsp almond extract

Directions

  • Combine base ingredients in a pitcher or large bowl.
  • Popscicles:  Pour base into popscicle molds with 1/4 inch of head space.  Freeze.  Enjoy!

The CocktailThe Cocktail:

2 oz creamscicle base
½ oz ginger liqueur
1 oz white rum

Directions

  • Shake cocktail ingredients together with ice.  Strain into a glass.  Serve.  Enjoy.

From my little corner of the world, thanks for reading and happy eating.
Caffeter, the Milkmaid

One thought on “Coconut Creamscicle

Leave a Reply

