Toasted Butter Pecan Cake

Some of you may have noticed a bit of radio silence these last few weeks. I apologize for the break but my family and I were taking a much needed vacation.  Now I am back, feeling recharged, and ready to cook.

Today, as I write, it’s my dad’s 65th birthday so naturally, he must have a cake; but what cake?   This isn’t a question that has ever been asked because he’s had this same cake every year for the last 65:  The Toasted Butter Pecan Cake.  There were a few common cakes in the house when I was growing up and, while I love this cake, it was never my birthday cake because my birthday is only three weeks before my dad’s.  And my brother always had a German Chocolate Cake – another favorite – but that rarely made an appearance on June 30th either because his birthday is only two weeks before mine.  Eh, no biggie, I just got to change it up every year and still bask in the glory of my favorites.  Now, as an adult I’ve lucked out because my husband loves the German Chocolate Cake (the recipe on the Baker’s chocolate box is awesome!)  so I still get that fix and I’m around often enough for my dad’s birthday that I get that too!  Yippie!

I’d love to tell you the story of the cake’s origin, but sadly, I don’t know it.  I’m sure my Grandma had something to do with it…I should probably ask her.  Anyway, I am also a lover of ice cream with my cake and many cakes are just too moist to handle that creamy goodness weeping atop them, but not this one.  It falls on the drier side so it reaches perfection when a scoop of butter pecan slowly melts and saturates the  surface.

Ah…cake…

Yes, it does taste as good as it looks!
Yes, it does taste as good as it looks!

Ingredients:

Cake:
2 cups chopped pecans
1 ¼ cup butter
3 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup milk
2 tsp vanilla extract

Frosting:
¼ cup butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
4-6 Tbs evaporated milk

Directions:

  • Prepare three 8-inch cake pans by laying down cut circles of parchment on the floor of each cake pan.  Then coat the interior of each covered pan with butter or oil, then dust all interior surfaces with flour.  (The layer of parchment will make sure that the cake doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan and ruin an otherwise lovely layer.)
  • Toast the pecans in ¼ cup of butter in a shallow oven-safe dish at 350 for 20-25 minutes stirring every 5-7 minutes.  Set aside and let cool.
  • Cream 1 cup of butter in a large bowl or mixer until pale yellow.  Add the sugar and eggs and beat until the sugar is dissolved.
  • Mix together the flour and baking powder in a separate bowl.
  • Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture alternately with the milk –  beginning and ending with the dry ingredients.
  • Stir in the vanilla and 1 ⅓ cups toasted pecans.
  • Divide batter evenly between the three pans and bake for 20-25 minutes in a 350 degree oven.
  • When the center of the cakes have set and a toothpick or knife inserted in the center comes out clean, remove the cakes from the oven and let sit for 5 minutes before removing them from their pans and allow to cool completely before frosting.

Frosting:

  • Cream butter until pale yellow.  Stir in the powdered sugar, vanilla, and 2-3 Tbs of the evaporated milk.  Slowly add more milk until you reach the desired consistency.  Stir in the remaining ⅔ cup of pecans.  Frost the cooled cake and enjoy!

From my little corner of the world, thanks for reading and happy eating.
Caffeter, the Milkmaid

One thought on “Toasted Butter Pecan Cake

  1. Love those traditions. -I’ve been on a baking kick lately (as opposed to more gourmet cooking), and this makes me think of my husband. He is a butter pecan ice cream freak, so it sounds like it should suit him nicely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

